Who won the Heisman Trophy? The 2022 winner and the complete list of honorees

NFL stars almost always had great college performances. There they polished and learned the virtues that make them stand out in professional American football. For this reason, especially in the United States, the NCAA sport is followed by millions of viewers every Saturday.


After the regular season but prior to the bowls, the prestigious MVP is delivered: the Heisman Trophy . Year after year the best player is chosen. The Sporting News reviews the list of all the winners, an award that has been given uninterruptedly since 1935.

Who was John Heisman and why is the trophy named after him?


The top university award is named after John Heisman in the form of recognition. John Heisman, who enjoyed the sport in the late 1800s, was instrumental in determining some of the current rules. His intervention allowed the number of injuries to drop: in 1905 there were 18 players killed and 159 seriously injured.

Heisman, which had a lifetime dedicated to the sport, was also important in the early years of college basketball and baseball.  

Who won the Heisman Trophy? All prize winners

Bryce Young

Getty Images
Year Player Universidad Position
1935 Jay Berwanger     Chicago Halfback
1936 Larry Kelley Yale End
1937 Clint Frank     Yale Halfback
1938 Davey O’Brien     TCU     Quarterback
1939 Nile Kinnick     Iowa     Halfback
1940 Tom Harmon     Michigan     Halfback
1941 Bruce Smith     Minnesota     Halfback
1942 Frank Sinkwich     Georgia     Halfback
1943 Angelo Bertelli     Our Lady     Quarterback
1944 The Horvaths     Ohio State     Quarterback
1945 Doc Blanchard     Army Fullback
1946 Glenn Davis     Army Halfback
1947 Johnny Lujack     Our Lady     Quarterback
1948 Doak Walker     SMU Halfback
1949 Leon Hart     Our Lady End
1950 Vic Janowicz     Ohio State Halfback
1951 Dick Kazmaier     Princeton Halfback
1952 Billy Vessels     Oklahoma     Halfback
1953 Johnny Lattner     Our Lady Halfback
1954 Alan Ameche     Wisconsin     Halfback
1955 Howard Cassady     Ohio State     Halfback
1956 Paul Hornung     Our Lady Quarterback
1957 John David Crow     Texas A&M     Halfback
1958 Pete Dawkins     Army     Halfback
1959 Billy Cannon     LSU Halfback
1960 Joe Bellino     Navy Halfback
1961 Ernie Davis     Syracuse     Halfback
1962 Terry Baker     Oregon State     Quarterback
1963 Roger Staubach     Navy Quarterback
1964 John Huarte     Our Lady Quarterback
1965 Mike Garrett     USC Halfback
1966 Steve Spurrier     Florida     Quarterback
1967 Gary Burden     UCLA Quarterback
1968 OJ Simpson     USC Halfback
1969 Steve Owens     Oklahoma Halfback
1970 Jim Plunkett     Stanford     Quarterback
1971 Pat Sullivan     Auburn     Quarterback
1972 Johnny Rodgers     Nebraska     Wide Receiver
1973 John Cappelletti     Penn State     Running Back
1974 Archie Griffin     Ohio State     Running Back
1975 Archie Griffin     Ohio State     Running Back
1976 Tony Dorsett     Pittsburgh     Running Back
1977 Earl Campbell     Texas Running Back
1978 Billy Sims     Oklahoma Running Back
1979 Charles White     USC Running Back
1980 George Rogers     South Carolina     Running Back
1981 Mark Allen     USC Running Back
1982 Herschel Walker     Georgia Running Back
1983 Mike Rozier     Nebraska     Running Back
1984 Doug Flutie     Boston College     Quarterback
1985 Bo Jackson Auburn   Running Back
1986 Vinny Testaverde     Miami     Quarterback
1987 Tim Brown     Our Lady     Wide Receiver
1988 Barry Sanders Oklahoma State     Running Back
1989 Andre Ware     Houston     Quarterback
1990 Ty Detmer     BYU Quarterback
1991 Desmond Howard     Michigan     Wide Receiver
1992 Gino Torretta     Miami   Quarterback
1993 Charlie Ward     Florida State     Quarterback
1994 Rashaan Salaam     Colorado Running Back
1995 Eddie George     Ohio State     Running Back
1996 Danny Wuerffel     Florida     Quarterback
1997 Charles Woodson     Michigan     Defensive Back
1998 Ricky Williams     Texas Running Back
1999 Ron Dayne     Wisconsin     Running Back
2000 Chris Weinke     Florida State     Quarterback
2001 Eric Crouch     Nebraska     Quarterback
2002 Carson Palmer     USC Quarterback
2003 Jason White     Oklahoma     Quarterback
2004 Matt Leinart     USC Quarterback
2005 Reggie Bush* USC Running Back
2006 Troy Smith     Ohio State     Quarterback
2007 Tim Tebow     Florida Quarterback
2008 Sam Bradford     Oklahoma     Quarterback
2009 Mark Ingram     Alabama     Running Back
2010 Cam Newton Auburn     Quarterback
2011 Robert Griffin III     Baylor     Quarterback
2012 Johnny Manziel     Texas A&M     Quarterback
2013 Jameis Winston     Florida State     Quarterback
2014 Marcus Mariota     Oregon     Quarterback
2015 Derrick Henry     Alabama     Running Back
2016 Lamar Jackson Louisville     Quarterback
2017 Baker Mayfield     Oklahoma     Quarterback
2018 Kyler Murray     Oklahoma     Quarterback
2019 Joe Burrow     LSU Quarterback
2020 DeVonta Smith     Alabama     Running Back
2021 Bryce Young     Alabama     Quarterback
2022 Caleb Williams USC Quarterback

*Returned in 2010 for receiving improper benefits while playing for the University of Southern California


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button